Agra Metro’s TBM Shivaji Launched from Taj Mahal Station by Afcons


Afcons Infrastructure – SAM India JV on Wednesday commissioned their third tunnel boring machine (TBM) Shivaji (S-718C) at Taj Mahal Station of the 29.40 km Agra Metro Phase 1 project.

This refurbished Ø6.63m diameter Herrenknecht Earth Pressure Balance (EPB) machine has been deployed to build twin tunnels on 14.25 km Line-1’s 7.93 km RBS College Ramp – Taj Mahal Ramp section (Package AGCC-02).

More specifically, it will first build an approximately 235m tunnel for the up-line from Taj Mahal Station’s east-end at Purani Mandi Chauraha towards the ramp on Fatehabad Road connecting to Sam India’s Package AGCC-01 where trial runs are underway.

Puja ceremony – photo by UPMRC

TBM S-718 had previously been deployed by Afcons – Transtonnelstroy JV between 2013-2016 to work on Chennai Metro Phase 1 project’s packages UAA-05 and UAA-01.

It was then refurbished at Herrenknecht’s plant in Tamil Nadu where it passed Factory Acceptance Tests (FAT) in April 2023. Afcons – SAM began lowering and assembling its parts at Taj Mahal Station in July.

Shot earlier this week – Photo by Suhail Saify

Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation (UPMRC) had awarded Afcons – SAM Consortium with this section’s Rs. 1819.79 crore civil construction contract in March 2022 with a 48 month deadline.

Their section from chainage 3630.000 to 11564.485 consists of twin tunnels connecting 7 stations at Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Jama Masjid, SN Medical College, Agra College, Raja ki Mandi and RBS College.

Route of Agra Metro’s underground section between RBS College and Taj Mahal – view Agra Metro route map and information

Interestingly the TBM’s banner was replaced on launch day with a more subtle banner.

New banner – Photo by UPMRC

Here are some cool recent snaps of Afcons-SAM’s casting yard located along Agra’s Ring Road (view on Google Maps). In addition to Robbins TBM Yamuna and TBM Ganga, daily deliveries will now be made to feed TBM Shivaji.

Photo by Saurabh Kulshrestha
Photo by Saurabh Kulshrestha

For more updates, check out the Agra section or my Home Page! Sign up for free instant email notifications on new posts over here. Like this post? Get early-access to updates and support the site over here.


Source link